SpiritFarmer


To Review or Not to Review
January 7, 2008, 12:17 pm
Filed under: blogging, books

Over the past year or so, I have posted to my blog much less frequently than I used to.  This is primarily due to the fact that I’ve been in school, and have spent more time reading than writing.  Last year I read close to 40 books completely, and probably equivalent to another 15 or so in partial books and journal articles . . . and then there are all the blogs I track.   Anyway, I’m seeing an increase in the number of book reviews I see showing up on peoples’ blogs.  Given that I’m reading a lot, I’ve considered combining a frequency of blog posting with that whole thing.  So, I’m thinking about that.  In the past I’ve resisted reviewing books, because other than saying, “Geez, I really liked/hated this book,” I’ve never been sure what I had to offer.  Does anyone really care much what I thought of Author X’s book?  I don’t know.  I can’t say that I’ve ever picked up a book to read based on other bloggers’ reviews . . . except that when I see a number of people I like all saying, “This book rocks!,” I do end up reading those.

In the interest of public service, I’d be willing to take reader feedback into consideration.  So whadya think?  Should I review some books here, or save my words for other things?

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I would absolutely love reading your book reviews. My hope is to read much more for pleasure and I’d love to see what my friends are reading. I love your blog, Steve. Keep it up.

Ryan

Comment by Ryan Moore

You know my answer here… go count the number of times I’ve emailed you with something like: “I noticed you are reading THIS BOOK, what do you think?” or “Have you read this book…”.

Yes… review away! At best, we all love it and come by to steal your books. At worst, you hone your writing skills and give us something to leave comments about :).

Comment by Jeremy

review.

That’s one of the main reasons I started my blog, and many recommendations I get come from what others are reading. Plus an amazon associates link here and there generally generates enough credit from Amazon to pick up 4-5 books a year… 🙂

Comment by john chandler

Reviews are a good way to get free books. Most publishing houses will give books to bloggers who are willing to post reviews. Actually that is the MO of most bloggers these days.

I’m personally staying away from it. it feels too much like school.
Peace.

Comment by eliacin




Leave a Reply

