SpiritFarmer


Beautiful tension
January 24, 2008, 6:53 am
Filed under: uncategorized

I woke up early this morning with what felt like a weird combination of depression and hope.  Depression, because I’ve seen some real weak spots in the way I’m approaching some aspects of my work and life.  I’m seeing areas where I know I can have a more profound impact on others, and bring encouragement to them.  I’m seeing an inbox and task list that prove how far behind I am on getting some things done.  And yet, there’s definitely the hope side of things: some of the reason I’m behind is that I’ve spent good time with good people sharing plans and ideas for good work together.  I have hope that even in the areas of my greatest character weaknesses, I have the capacity to live into the Kingdom reality in a way that changes everything.  I have hope that even without trying harder, producing more, and getting things done, I can relax in knowing that God fills in the gaps where I’m weak.

I don’t tend to use this blog for devotional reflection, but there are times when doing a reality check here seems like the right thing to do.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

