SpiritFarmer


inter::mission teach-in recap
January 25, 2008, 9:07 am
Filed under: inter::mission, the purple door

Last night, we in the inter::mission community, were graced by the presence of Rose Madrid-Swetman. I had been looking forward to this one since before the school year started. Rose is such a great soul, with a depth of love and gratitude to God, which has come through drawing deeply from the Spirit, life experience, and opportunities to serve others. She and her husband, Rich, co-pastor the Vineyard Community Church in Shoreline, WA, and she is the founder and Executive Director of Turning Point, a non-profit that works to connect low-income families to social services. She’s also in graduate school. Aaaand, she and Rich are raising their 10 year old son. A full life indeed, which makes me really grateful that she took the time to be with us.

Rose talked through some of the spiritual formation elements that she practices in her journey with God, and led us in lectio divina. It was a new thing for most of our folks, which was great. Having her there with us was a good reminder to me of the high value of reflective meditation and silence with God. That means something much deeper to me than a “quiet time.” I’ve never been the type to hike five miles into a thick forest, where it was just me and God, and sit quietly for hours on end. But I know I miss out on a depth of experience with God and other people when I don’t slow down enough for my own version of that.

We continue to try new things with inter::mission, and I’m well into my thought process as to how to adjust and re-format things for version 2.0 next school year. But I still find myself deeply satisfied with how God has brought things together this year, and the experiences we’ve shared together.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

