SpiritFarmer


I didn’t give up blogging for Lent, I gave up being a Christian
February 16, 2008, 10:23 am
Filed under: blogging, Christendom, college ministry, inter::mission, the purple door

Hi there!  It’s me, Steve.  You know, the guy who used to blog here, but hasn’t dropped in lately?  Yeah, that Steve.  Nice to, er, type at you again.

Busy week I suppose. Met with a couple different church planters, had a luncheon with other UW campus ministers, spent time with the inter::mission crew, and even took a day off!

The following story is neither here nor there, but it was an interesting part of my week.   There’s a UW student that I spend a good bit of time with most weeks.  He’s a really smart guy – knowledgeable in a lot of different areas: politics, computers, literature, science, religion, etc.  I guess a good way to describe him would be to say he’s a Deist – not really an atheist, but the God he believes is out there isn’t a personality kind of entity.  He and I (and others around The Purple Door) have tons of good conversations.  This week, as a few of us were chatting, he mentioned how when he’s talking to Christians, he’s often quite guarded in what he says, because of the judgment he potentially faces.  I asked what he meant, and he said something like, “There are a couple of types of Christians I talk to – there’s the more casual, reasonable types that don’t necessarily look at the Bible as a literally true thing that rules them.  And then there’s this other type that are flaky, awkward, and just kind of weird.”  I inserted a little quip that he must see me as the flaky, awkward, weird type of Christian.  His response was, “Wow, no, I don’t even think of you as a Christian.”  This made me laugh.  I had to ask what he meant by that, so I said, “If I’m not a Christian, then what am I?”  He said, “Well, I guess I’d just say you’re a Jesus follower.”  What he meant was that I’m not caught up in religion and politics and moralism and judgment of it all.   I just follow Jesus.

We carried the conversation on, and argued over the ways in which science has become a religion. But that one little part about not being a Christian stuck with me more than anything.  A breath of fresh air, really.

What do you think?  Have I sold out the Church now that I’m not a Christian?  Should I be fired as a “minister” if I’m not a Christian? Should I be given a raise?

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You should be given a raise!

Comment by Ryan Moore

Well you be happy to know that I took your advice…sort of. I started a blog that is a sports and theology blog. It’s not the sports church or anything but it’s something at least. You’ll have to check it out sometime, I’ve got a link on my facebook page to it

Comment by Michael

If someone said such a thing about me, I would be compelled to examine myself in light of Jesus’ words in Matthew 5:13-16. For someone to say such a thing would not cause me to laugh; it would break my heart.

“13 You are the salt of the earth; but if the salt has become tasteless, how can it be made salty again? It is no longer good for anything, except to be thrown out and trampled under foot by men. 14 You are the light of the world. A city set on a hill cannot be hidden; 15 nor does anyone light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on the lampstand, and it gives light to all who are in the house. 16 Let your light shine before men in such a way that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father who is in heaven.”

Comment by Bill

What a compiment! To not be seen as a religious person, as the pharisees, but to be seen as a Christ follower, which is what we (Christians) are called to be. If more Christians lived as Christ followers and not as religious people I can only imagine how “salty” the earth would be!

I just stumbled upon your blog and am enjoying my time here! Thanks!

Comment by Nik




Leave a Reply

