SpiritFarmer


Blogging the New Conspirators, part 1
February 28, 2008, 11:11 pm
Filed under: blogging, books, conference, friends, Seattle, the purple door

Just got back from the opening sessions of The New Conspirators.  Really good vibe in the room.  Tom Sine had some opening remarks, Christine Sine led out in some prayers, and all the workshop presenters gave a quick intro of themselves and their topics for the conference.  I couldn’t get too far beyond the registration table before getting caught in the tractor beam of the book tables.  Lots of good stuff there, including Tom Sine’s book, which has the same name as the conference title . . . coincidence?  But then I saw Shane Claiborne’s new book, Jesus For President – a pleasant surprise indeed, given that I didn’t even think it was available yet.  I liked Shane’s Irresistable Revolution, but I was actually more interested in seeing the graphic art work on literally every page of the book . . . done by Ryan and Holly Sharp, a.k.a. 2/3 of The Cobalt Season.  Very, very cool.  Now I’ll be able to get them to autograph it Saturday night, when they play The Purple Door.  Speaking of which, I got to see and chat with Mark and Lisa Scandrette, as well – Mark will be sharing the stage, doing some poetry on Saturday, as will Adam Klein.  If you’re in the Seattle area, you’d be silly to miss this evening – the fun starts at around 8pm, so come on over.

I was also very excited to finally meet, face-to-face, Eliacin, after months of trading e-mail and Twitter messages.  Great guy – I’m definitely looking forward to developing a good friendship with him.  He introduced me to Mark Van Steenwyk as well.  Didn’t say much more than hello, but I’ve been tracking his blog for a while now, so it was cool to meet him.  I did get to talk for a spell with Justin Baeder, too, which was good – it had been a while since we chatted.   Other than that, I just got a couple of quick hello’s in with Eugene Cho and Karen Ward.

A couple of my cohort-mates from school were there, so I said hello to them.  It was good to be there with Johnson, one of our team members at The Purple Door.  There’s a lot of good stuff ahead.  I think they’ve put together a really great lineup of folks as presenters – most of whom aren’t the big names, but they’ve done the real work of charting a new way forward, so they’ve got all the street cred they need, in my book.  I’ll blog as I’m able . . . but the wi-fi is only available in one part of the facility, so it may be spotty.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Great to finally meet you too Brother. See you tomorrow.
Peace.

Comment by eliacin

As you can suspect from my recent FeedHeads “shares” on FB, social entepreneurship is a particularly interesting topic to me. If you get a chance, I would love to hear your thoughts on this Saturday morning session:

Devin Erhardt—Social Entrepreneurship For Change

BTW, I’m watching your TNC blogging alongside the TED and BIL conferences… talk about overloading the brain…

Comment by Jeremy




Leave a Reply

