SpiritFarmer


Blogging the New Conspirators, part 5
February 29, 2008, 10:43 pm
Filed under: conference, Seattle, social action

Wow, I’m tired.  Loooong day.  We were rocking by 8:30am, and I just got home at about 10pm.  There was a little down time in mid-day, but not much.

People were encouraged to get out and walk the streets of the Seattle this afternoon, specifically in four neighborhoods: Fremont, Rainier Valley, Greenwood, and Lake City.  I’ll confess – I didn’t follow the rules.  For one thing, I didn’t go with the official groups, but my crew from the Purple Door and I drove through Rainier Valley and Columbia City – we drove, not walked . . . it was raining, and we had some other stuff that we needed to get done, in preparation for tomorrow’s concert.

This evening, Shane Claiborne gave his keynote.  Good stuff.  This was the first time I’ve seen him live.  Pretty much like what he writes, and the podcasts I’ve heard of him.  It was good to hear some of the updates on his community in Philly, after the big fire that burned through their neighborhood last year.  A lot of good things are happening there.

At one point, during a Q & A time, a young man stood up and said, “I’m a Palestinian Muslim, but I follow what you talk about and do, because it’s compelling.  It doesn’t matter to me that we follow different paths.”  Pretty cool moment – I appreciate the courage of this guy to sort of “out” himself in a room full of Christians, and it obviously spoke deeply to the compelling nature of the way of Jesus, when it’s taken seriously.  For those unfamiliar with him, Shane Claiborne does not soft-pedal his faith.  He speaks quite boldly about Jesus, and where all of his social justice and activism comes from.

Off to bed now, before I get up and go for it again tomorrow.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

