SpiritFarmer


I heart my BFF team members
March 19, 2008, 5:38 pm
Filed under: uncategorized

It was a good, mostly mellow day at The Purple Door.  We bid our goodbyes to our friends from Texas, and now the house is back to it’s mostly quiet self.  We have large quantities of leftover pancake mix and chips and apples from the past few weeks – each team that comes in buys its own groceries, and leaves the leftovers behind.  Looks like we need to get creative with our Thursday family meal times. 

Over the past three weeks, we’ve hosted just shy of 60 overnight guests.  We did have some fun, indeed.  But we’re all ready for the break.  I was thinking about how much better the past few weeks have gone, with the input and work and sleepless staff I get to work with.  Each of the team members I’ve been privileged to spend time with during this school year have been a tremendous source of encouragement to me.  They’ve worked hard, been very experimental, and very trusting of some fairly crazy ideas.  I think I’ve become more aware than ever of some of my failings, and how those impact the people around me, but these friends have given me tons of grace and support and love.  It’s an honor to be with them.

As our dreams continue to unfold, we have a long way to go.  But two-thirds into our first school year with inter::mission, I have to say I’m pretty satisfied.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

