SpiritFarmer


A Note to all my Facebook friends
April 30, 2008, 7:39 am
Filed under: blogging, culture, friends, technology

Several months ago, I jumped on the social networking bandwagon that is Twitter.  For those of you who don’t know, Twitter is sort of a cross between a blog and a Facebook status update.  Except, it’s more like a Facebook status update on crack, only more addictive.  Also, you only get 140 characters to express yourself.  Many Twitterers post updates (or “tweets”) more often than they blink.

In order to streamline my digital life a little, I turned on a widget in Facebook that goes out and finds my most recent Twitter update, and turns it into my latest Facebook status update.  In so doing, though, on Facebook, it adds the words “is twittering” to the front of all my updates.  So it looks like this: “Steve is twittering: Can’t seem to find socks that match my Hanna Montana t-shirt,” or: “Steve is twittering: People challenge my masculinity for spending time “tweeting” in the “Twittersphere (and also my Hanna Montana t-shirt).”

So if you see me on Facebook, and are wondering why I’m “twittering” all the time, now you know.  I’m sorry if I annoy you.  Since we’re Facebook friends, and obviously very close as a result, just let me know if you want me to unplug the widget.  Better yet, start a Facebook group – “1,000,000 Strong to Get Steve to Stop Twittering!”

Alternatively, if you want to follow me on Twitter, look me up – my Twitter handle is also spiritfarmer.

Thank you for your attention.  I apologize that I cannot give you back the 3 minutes you just wasted in reading this.  That is all.

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

why tweet if you could just use Facebook Mobile and change status updates – minus the “twitter tag”?
http://www.facebook.com/apps/application.php?id=2915120374&ref=s

Comment by Jeremy

Ah, see, this is where the social networking aspect comes in. I guess I like seeing all of my friends’ statuses aggregated on one page, and then being able to interact with them through @username posts.

Oh yeah, plus the obvious thing – I’m trendy, and Robert Scoble said Twitter was cool, and Facebook sucks. I believe EVERYTHING Scoble says 😉

Comment by steve lewis

twitter is more funner

Comment by john chandler

How does one find the time to twitter, blog and interface with the Facebook? I need to be trained so I can document all the circus acts in the big top. How can I live without sharing lessons learned like last week when I was informed that the Tooth Fairy is married to the Leprechan with the pots of gold (that’s where she gets all her cash)? So much to share, so little time. How DO you do it???

Comment by Sister Teresa

Teresa,

See now, this one’s easy. It’ll take you 15 minutes to set up – 5 min. each for a Facebook, Twitter, and Jott account. Then it’s as easy as placing a call from your cell phone while you’re on your way to pick up the kids from school – you call Jott, and have it send a text message to Twitter, which will update your Twitter AND Facebook statuses.

Got it? Jott to Twitter to Facebook. No worries!

You’re welcome.

Comment by steve lewis

Jott??? You didn’t say anything about Jott. Are you even speaking English? Wow, I thought that my one friend in the world without a computer, living on a farm in Iowa was out of touch but now I feel like I have been left in the dust. Are you also on MySpace or is that too old fashioned? Seriously, I’d love to spend a day in your shadow just trying to catch up on technology.

Comment by Sister Teresa

o.k., baby steps.

Jott is a service that allows you to send a text message or e-mail to someone via a phone call. If you’re driving, for instance, and don’t want to try texting someone, you just call Jott’s number, record a little voice mail message, and they will transcribe it and send it as text to whoever you want.

I have a MySpace account, but I only have like 8 friends, and I only visit my page about once every three weeks. I am a MySpace loser. Students at UW are all on Facebook, so that’s where I spend my time.

Oh, and if you haven’t noticed from my little profile picture, just so you know, if you were to spend a day in my shadow, you’d be exposed to pipe smoke. Sorry.

Comment by steve lewis

Mmmm, pipe smoke (yummy noises). That would actually be a nice aromatic distraction while fumbling with my 2 cell phones, PDA, MP3 and actual paper and pen to scribble notes on to keep up with you. I would be a mess. I think I need a technology intervention.

Comment by Sister Teresa




Leave a Reply

