SpiritFarmer


India Journal – USAmerican politics
July 23, 2008, 6:14 am
Filed under: emerging church, India, politics

O.k., this post is a quickie.  One of the funny, unexpected things about meeting and talking with people in India was their interest in the U.S. presidential election this year.  More often than not, when I would meet someone on the street or in a shop or wherever, they would ask, “Where are you from?”  Resisting the temptation to say, “Canada,” I would tell them I was from the U.S.  Upon hearing this, I would rapidly get peppered with questions like, “Is Obama going to win?”  I’d tell them that the polls were close, and we’d have to wait and see, but I’m pretty sure everyone I talked to said they hoped Obama would win.  It’s very clear to me that if India could vote in our elections, McCain (known in India as “Who’s that?”) could start his retirement planning early.

Obama seems to be as popular in India as he is in the emerging church.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

