SpiritFarmer


My plea to the publishing industry
August 11, 2008, 2:08 pm
Filed under: books, culture, school

I would like to make a humble request to anyone out there who is involved in the publishing industry.  I really need some help on this one, o.k.?  It may seem a bit selfish, and maybe just a little counter-intuitive, but really, I’d appreciate it if you could do whatever you can to help.

You see, I’ve been in school for the past couple of years, and even now that I’m done with the coursework phase of my degree, and I don’t have to keep up with my professor’s required reading lists, I am in the middle of a huge research and writing project.  All of that to say that I am simply incapable of keeping up with the massive amounts of new books that you publishers keep churning out.  Granted, I don’t need to read every new title that gets published, but there are a significant number of books that I see publicized, blogged about, and celebrated, and I just don’t have the time to get to them.

I’m a literary fellow – I love reading, and do a lot of it.  But not enough to keep up. 

Sadly, that’s only half of my problem.  The other half is that the more progress I make on my dissertation, and the more I spend time going through notes and flipping through the stacks of books that are on my home office desk, the more I realize that there are quite a large number of books I’ve already read once or more that I really need to return to.  In some cases, I read them too fast to have retained enough.  In other cases, the books are so good, so compelling, that they need to be re-read at least once every two or three years for the rest of my life.

So what do you say publishing industry?  Do you think you could just take the next year off, and not publish anything?  For me?  I still love you.  I just think we need to take some time off from each other.  It’s not you, it’s me.  I really want to work things out, but I need some time away.  You understand, don’t you?  Maybe you could spend some time with the movie industry – I don’t see enough of them these days, either.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Seriously. I’d be happy if only N. T. Wright stopped publishing for a couple years, and also Leadership Network / Jossey-Bass.

Also if my children cold be cryogenically frozen for a couple of years until disseration is done, then I could pick up where they currently are.

Comment by Pat

CRAP! Just looking up Jossey-Bass turned up another book I need to buy and read: this one on multiethnic church.

pOwnd!

Comment by Pat

My advice: If ya can’t beat ’em, join ’em. Add to the chaos. Write a book! 🙂

Comment by Sue




Leave a Reply

