SpiritFarmer


Getting it together
December 3, 2008, 9:03 pm
Filed under: family, school, travel

Well, after several days of being back on the mainland, I figured that it might be time to try this thing called blogging again.  The time away was helpful in many ways, difficult in some ways, beautiful all over the place, and certainly unique as Thanksgivings go.  My dinner consisted of stuffed Mahimahi (that’s the way the restaurant spelled it) with a crushed macadamia nut crust, and asparagus.  Killer – dang, it’s almost a week later, and my mouth is still watering!

The time away, while relaxing, was also a bit of a working vacation.  For the first time since I started writing my doctoral dissertation back in July, I hit the “print” button right before I left . . . 135 pages later, and I was ready to go away for some editing.  I still have at least one full chapter left to write, but I was able to go through the first six with a highlighter and make some comments. 

Michelle and I didn’t ever really try to adjust our bodies to the two hour time difference in Maui, which meant early to bed and early to rise.  I think the latest I slept was about 6:15am . . . of course, there was at least one night where I was asleep at 8pm.  Thankfully, 1.5 miles down the road from our hotel was Java Jazz, a great coffee house and cafe that serves a pretty good Americano, so I went there daily to check e-mail, do a little research, and stay connected.

So, overall, the vacation wasn’t completely sabbath-y, but it was still good.

While I was away, I had multiple episodes with the Windows BSOD . . . the blue screen of death.  When I returned, I got nothing but the BSOD.  So, I’ve spent the past few days tearing down and rebuilding my poor computer – total wipe of the hard drive, installation of a new operating system, and re-installing all of my software.  It’s been painful to say the least, but I’m thankful to say that I have been super paranoid about this kind of thing happening over the past few months, and was able to back up all of my data before hand.  I’m pleased to say that my system is pretty blazing fast at this point, and all signs are go.

I’m actually not done re-installing stuff.  For example, just a little while ago I got Windows LiveWriter plugged in, which is my blogging platform of choice.  Thus, this post.

So there is all the mundane stuff of life that a few of you are interested in, and the rest of you just fell asleep to – sorry.  I just felt the need to explain my absence a bit.  In the next few days, I’ll try to post some thoughts about attempting to be “strategic” and “viral” at the same time.  Until then . . . cheers!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

