SpiritFarmer


Reading again
February 13, 2009, 8:45 am
Filed under: books, school

I’m either proud or ashamed to say that I completed reading my first book of 2009 earlier this week.  Proud, given that it’s the fist book I’ve finished in the past three or four months.  Ashamed, because at this point in the year for the past three or four or five years, I would have completed five or six books.  I guess I could be even more embarrassed to say that even the book I finished was a piece of popular fiction.  But there’s no shame in that for me.

After a long slog of research and writing, which took me out of the reading-entire-books-at-a-time game, I’m looking forward to some more normal approaches to books.  I’ve just begun my reading list for the year (which you can check out here, if you care).  There only only a few there, and I’ll certainly add to the list.  Truthfully, I haven’t even tried – those books are just off the top of my head.  I’m also planning to do a lot of reading of unpublished material – over the past few years, I’ve had the pleasure of studying with some school mates, who have worked very hard to produce their dissertations, as I have, and I’m eager to dig in and see their work.  First up on the reading list will be N.T. Wright’s The Resurrection of the Son of God.  It’s a book that has been patiently waiting on my shelf for three years.  I’m really looking forward to this during the season of Lent.

If you have any suggestions for books, hit me with a comment.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

