SpiritFarmer


A milestone passed
March 17, 2009, 6:20 am
Filed under: blogging, globalization, missiology, school

Yesterday morning I was able to successfully defend my doctoral dissertation, and I have now officially completed the Doctor of Ministry degree through George Fox Seminary.  It’s a bittersweet kind of day for me – I’m certainly glad to have this thing done, and have the opportunity to breathe a little and bring a bit of harmony back into my schedule and life, but it also marks the close of a process that I’ve definitely enjoyed.

In part because of my busy-ness with school reading and writing, the frequency of my blog posting has dropped over the past couple of years.  I’ve also not posted very heavily on the areas of my dissertation research.  Maybe it’s just that I’ve been writing so much in academic forms about the research that I haven’t been highly motivated to do more of it here.  At any rate, I am now prepared to reveal the title of my  dissertation to you.  Ready?  How’s this sound?:

GLOBAL CHRISTIAN SHIFTS AND MISSIONAL CHURCH MOVEMENTS:
LINKING THE POSTCOLONIAL GLOBAL SOUTH WITH THE POSTMODERN WEST

I’ve defnitely learned a lot, and am planning now to begin sharing some of that here.  Globalization is changing our world, and has brought some exciting changes to the Church.  There are some rough and uncertain days ahead, but also some things that I am very hopeful about.  I’ll share some of that as well.

For today, though, I just want to say thanks to my family and friends for all the encouragement and love that I have received.  It’s not been easy, but the support I’ve felt from others has carried me along.

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Steve,

Any chance I could get that dissertation as a pdf?

Comment by David Phillips

Congratulations Dr. Lewis!

Comment by Jeremy

It’s about time you started to share all that research with your fans!!!

Comment by Michelle Lewis

Dr. Steve, I’m super happy for you, and more than a bit envious. Looking forward to hearing more details over beers!

Comment by Pat

Congrats Dr. Steve! I’m excited for you. Doesn’t seem like all that long ago we were sitting in Ladro and you were telling me you were starting back to George Fox…might seem like a long time to you though. 🙂

Comment by john chandler

Steve,
My father in law is working on his Doctorate of Missiology at AGTS and I know he would definitely be interested in reading your dissertation.
His work focueses on social justice in the Phillipines.

Comment by channing

You should publish it here: http://www.ndltd.org/.

Of course George Fox may just post it to http://scholar.google.com over time.

Comment by Jeremy

That’s awesome! Congratulations!

Comment by Kim

Congratulations, Steve. I know you are excited. Blessings for you miistry future – and life in general.
Pat Kent

Comment by Pat Kent




Leave a Reply

